Women in Management (WIM) 2019 Awards in Canada

Women in Management (WIM) recognized Canadian Sri Lankan women for the second year. Pictures by Nilan Gunawardena for lankareporter.com


The prestigious Women in Management (WIM) Sri Lanka hosted their second annual awards show in Canada, recognizing 44 Canadian Sri Lankan women.

This year the organization was proud to announce their own WIM Canada Chapter headed by lawyer Devika Anthony. The awards show organizer Rienzie Martinesz, a highly regarded marketing professional played the key role in establishing the chapter and conceptualizing the awards ceremony in Canada. Founder of WIM, Dr. Sulochana Segera, delivered a special message for Canadian Sri Lankan women through video. The chief guest for the event was Sri Lanka High Commissioner Asoka Girihagama, while the principal sponsor was John Keells properties represented by Nadeem Shums, Assistant Manager – Sales & Marketing.

Lighting of the traditional oil lamp

This Award should be the starting point of a journey towards leading other women to be successful.

Dr. Sulochana Segera – Founder Chairperson – Women in Management Sri Lanka


We invite the WIM Award winners to become members of WIM Canada and help us help others

Julian Devika Anthony – President – Women in Management Sri Lanka – Canada Chapter


Best Woman in Human Resources Management, Senani Ratnayake. Best Woman in Finance Management, Eileen Marikar. Best Woman in Information Technology Management, Harshini Deegala. Best Woman in Banking, Marla Vijekuma.r Best Woman in Legal – General Practice, Anjana Bandara. Best Woman in Legal – Real Estate, Thushari Namal Suduwelikanda. Best Woman in State & Government Secto, Ayesha Menikgama. Best Woman in Real Estate & Investment, Sharlene Worrie. Best Woman in Media & Communications Management, Shanthi Perera. Best Woman in Hotel, Hospitality & Food Services Management, Karen Fernando. Best Woman in Research Scientists, Farah Zahir. Best Woman in Primary Education, Imanthi De Bellefeuille. Outstanding Woman Entrepreneur, Shamila De Almeida. Upcoming Woman Entrepreneur, Praba Malwatta. Upcoming Young Woman Leader, Ruwandi Kariyawasam. Best Corporate Leader of the Year, Deepani Perera. Business Role Model of the Year, Nirmalee Attanayake. Inspirational Woman of the Year, Anita Abeyesekera. Career Role Model, Jayamali Kasige Arambewela. Best Woman in Performing Arts, Rashanthi Hettarachchi. Emerging Professional Woman, Angjalie R Sangakkara. Best Sports woman of the Year, Scano Hewa Batuwitage. Best Professional Achiever, Anoma Niranjali Charmini Perera. Best Business Woman Achiever, Mathany Ganesh. Woman of the Year, Dr Kanjana Sashi Perera.

This Award program is a springboard in building relationships and creating networking possibilities between Sri Lanka and Canada.

RienzieMartinesz – WIM Representative in Canada
Chief Guest Asoka Girihagama High Commissioner of Sri Lanka to Canada.
Principal sponsor was John Keells properties represented by Nadeem Shums, Assistant Manager – Sales & Marketing.


Andrea Rozanne Ubeysekera – State & Government Sector Category. Chamila Ishani Kodithuwakku -Community Services Category. Dona Chamika Withanawasam- Administration Services Category. Indrani Singham – Financial Services Category. Nuwanthi Jayatunga – Legal Services Category. Pearl Perera -Information Technology Category. Purnima Jayasekera- Business Category. Rishika Williams- Community Health Sector Category. Sasani Wanigasekera – Youth Leader Category. Sharuthie Ramesh -Youth Leader Category. Sophia Gabriel- Youth Leader Category. Suhasha Hewagama – Legal Services Category. Swarna Ratnayake Chandrasekera – Woman Leader Category. Thilini Indraratne – Marketing Services Category. Thusharika Kalutantri – State & Government Sector Category. Dr. Nirmala Siva – Dental Services Category. Melani Jayawickrama- Engineer Category. Yasanthie Senevirtane Atappatu -Medical Profession Category. Rishani Vettyvel- Legal Services Category.